Research Guides: Religious Studies Research Guide: Home

Get Started

Jump start your research with these essential resources:

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
An index of materials covering a range of topics such as Biblical studies, world religions, church history, religion and society, and more.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.
Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the world (excluding U.S and Canada).

Search the Library's Catalog

Search for books, articles, and more through our library search system.

WorldCat Search

Expand your search outside of Atkins Library's collections and use WorldCat.org to search the collections of over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Use our Interlibrary Loan Service to request the materials be freely shipped to you at Atkins Library.

Data in Religious Studies

The Association of Religion Data Archives
The ARDA provides statistical and GIS data relating to religions.
Pew Research Center: Religion
Provides public opinion polling, demographic research, and social sciences research.
Berman Jewish DataBank
The Berman Jewish Databank @ The Jewish Federations of North America acquires, archives and provides open access to quantitative studies and related materials on North American Jews and Jewish communities.

VIDEO: Why We Want to Study Religion

Dr. Carol Anderson from TEDxKalamazooCollege

A university professor natured in the untold gender and feminine drama of religious history challenges us to return to defining the power of religious and spiritual forces in our lives instead of letting the cultural boxes limit our capacity for growth and spiritual innovation.

Religious Studies Research Guide

Atkins Library Quick Links

Subject Librarian

Call Numbers

Get Started

Search the Library's Catalog

WorldCat Search

Data in Religious Studies

VIDEO: Why We Want to Study Religion

Chat with us!