Research Guides: Religious Studies Research Guide: Hinduism

Databases for Hinduism

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
An index of materials covering a range of topics such as Biblical studies, world religions, church history, religion and society, and more.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.
Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

Online Encyclopedias

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy: provides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers. Contains articles on

Reference Works

Encyclopedia of Hinduism by Constance Jones; James Daniel Ryan; J. Gordon Melton (Editor)
Call Number: 3rd Floor BL1105 .J56 2007
ISBN: 9780816054589
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Encyclopedia of World Religions is a new series from ""Facts On File"" that explores the major religions of the world, emphasizing the living faiths and their historical and social background.
A Dictionary of Hinduism by W. J. Johnson
Call Number: 3rd Floor BL1105 .J65 2009
ISBN: 9780198610250
Publication Date: 2009-03-25
Covering all the major Hindu practices, festivals, beliefs, gods, sacred sites, languages, and religious texts, this is the most comprehensive Hinduism dictionary of its kind. It contains 2,800 entries on everything from Tantra to temples, from bhakti to Divali, as well as biographical entries for key thinkers, teachers, and scholars.
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism by Jeffery D. Long
Call Number: 3rd Floor BL1105 .S847 2011
ISBN: 9780810867642
Publication Date: 2011-09-09
The Historical Dictionary of Hinduism relates the history of Hinduism through a chronology, an introductory essay, photos, an extensive bibliography, and over 1,000 cross referenced dictionary entries on Hindu terminology, names of major historical figures and movements, gods and goddesses, prominent temples, terms for items used in Hindu practice, major texts, philosophical concepts, and more.