Religious Studies Research Guide

Written by an expert team of contributors, the volume contains over 8,000 entries, an extensive topic index, and an original and in-depth introductory essay.

The Encyclopedia of Religion is a standard reference work in the field, providing a wide variety of information in its 15 volumes. Although it is not as detailed as subject-specific encyclopedias, it still provides a wealth of information and bibliography for further study.

A comprehensive account of women's religious experience set in a historical and cultural context written from a wide range of perspectives, including Buddhist, Christian, Islamic and Jewish.

This important new reference covers African and African-American religion in sub-Saharan Africa, North America, South America, and the Caribbean, and provides vital insights into its growing worldwide influence in Europe, Asia and the South Pacific.

This comprehensive alphabetic reference of over 1,200 entries reveals the rich spiritual legacy of the native American nations, covering sacred sites, burial practices, spiritual leaders, traditional ceremonies, concepts of the afterlife, symbolism, dances and objects.

The expanded second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Shinto relates the history of Shinto through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 800 cross-referenced dictionary entries on Shinto concepts, significant figures, places, activities, and periods.

This third edition of Historical Dictionary of Sikhism covers its history through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1000 cross-referenced entries on key persons, organizations, the principles, precepts and practices of the religion as well as the history, culture and social arrangements.

The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to African Religions brings together a team of international scholars to create a single-volume resource on the religious beliefs and practices of the peoples in Africa.