Research Guides: Religious Studies Research Guide: Islam

Databases For Articles Concerning Islam

Encyclopedia of Islam, THREE This link opens in a new window
This third edition of Brill’s Encyclopedia of Islam sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
An index of materials covering a range of topics such as Biblical studies, world religions, church history, religion and society, and more.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.
Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the world (excluding U.S and Canada).
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the US and Canada. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.

Reference Works

The Cambridge Companion to American Islam by Omid Safi (Editor); Juliane Hammer (Editor)
Call Number: BP67.U6 C355 2013 - 3rd Floor
ISBN: 0521175526
The Cambridge Companion to American Islam offers a scholarly overview of the state of research on American Muslims and American Islam.
Encyclopaedia of Islam by P. J. Bearman (Editor); Th. Bianquis (Editor); C. E. Bosworth (Editor); E. J. van Donzel (Editor); W. P. Heinrichs (Editor)
Call Number: DS37 .E523 3rd Floor (12 volumes)
ISBN: 9004127569
The Encyclopaedia of Islam offers a tool for research on the peoples and cultures of Islam and a comprehensive digest of existing scholarship.
Encyclopaedia of Islam - Three by Kate Fleet (Editor); Gudrun Krämer (Editor); Denis Matringe (Editor); John Nawas (Editor); Everett Rowson (Editor)
Call Number: DS37 .E523 2014 - 3rd Floor
ISBN: 9004161651
Reflecting the diversity of contemporary scholarship, this volume includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
The Qur'an an Encyclopedia by Oliver Leaman (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780415775298
Authored by forty-three international experts, the objective of The Qur'an: An Encyclopedia is to present this diversity of thought, approach and school without priority, in order to give a strong appreciation of the range of response that the text has provoked throughout its history and providing students and researchers with a powerful one-volume resource covering all aspects of the text and its reception.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture by Moya Carey
Call Number: N6260 .I66 2010 - 3rd Floor
ISBN: 0754820874
Publication Date: 2010-12-16
Meticulously researched, with more than 500 photographs and maps, this book is the perfect study aid for students or anyone with a keen interest in Islamic artistic expression and interpretation.
Historical Dictionary of Prophets in Islam and Judaism by Scott B. Noegel; Brannon M. Wheeler
Call Number: BM645.P67 N64 2002 - 8th Floor Tate Collection
ISBN: 0810843056
Both traditions recognize and draw theological and historical lessons from some of the same narrative sources, but this is the first comparative resource to provide interdisciplinary coverage of the history and textual sources associated with prophets and prophecy.
New Encyclopedia of Islam by Cyril Glasse
Call Number: BP40 .G42 2001 - 3rd Floor
ISBN: 0759101892
The New Encyclopedia of Islam is the only single-volume work in print which so comprehensively encompasses the beliefs, practices, history and culture of the Islamic world, in over 1300 entries.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World by John L. Esposito (Editor)
Call Number: DS35.53 .O95 1995 (4 vols.) - 3rd Floor
ISBN: 0195066138
The first encyclopedia dedicated to the institutions, religion, politics, and culture in Muslim societies throughout the world, this work contains over 750 articles that focus on the Islamic dimension of the Muslim experience in recent history.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by Richard C. Martin
ISBN: 0028656032
ebook

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages This link opens in a new window
The Oxford encyclopedia provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.

Qu'Ran (on-line)

Tanzil Project
Tanzil is a Quranic project launched in early 2007 to produce a highly verified Unicode Quran text to be used in Quranic websites and applications. Our mission in the Tanzil project is to produce a standard Unicode Quran text and serve as a reliable source for this standard text on the web.
The Noble Qu'Ran
The Noble Qur'an is the central religious text of Islam. Muslims believe the Qur’an is the book of Divine guidance and direction for mankind, and consider the original Arabic text the final revelation of Allah (God). All translations of the original Arabic text are thus interpretations of the original meanings and should be embraced as such.

UNC Charlotte Manuscripts and Archival Resources

Brandon (William P.) Collection of Korans
The William P. Brandon Koran Collection consists of two Korans, the holy book of the Islamic faith.

Online Sources

Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies
An international, peer-reviewed, open access, academic journal, hosted by Lancaster University and the University of Oslo.
Cambridge University's Islamic Manuscripts
Cambridge University Library's collection of Islamic manuscripts dates from the origins of Arabic scholarship in Cambridge in the 1630s when the University founded a Professorship in Arabic and William Bedwell donated a Qurʼān to the Library. Since that time the collection has grown in size and diversity to over 5,000 works, including the collections of Thomas Erpenius, J.L.Burckhardt, E.H.Palmer and E.G. Browne. These manuscripts shed light on many aspects of the Islamic world, its beliefs and learning.
Princeton University's Yemeni Manuscripts
The private manuscript libraries of Yemen, estimated at 50,000 codices, constitutes the largest and most important set of unexamined Arabic manuscripts in the world today. The Yemeni Manuscript Digitization Initiative presents, for the first time, access to manuscripts from three private libraries in Sanaa, Yemen, and virtually conjoins them to additional Yemeni manuscripts held by the Princeton University Library and Staatsbibliothek, Berlin.
Islamic Bioethics Project
The Islamic Medical and Scientific Ethics (IMSE) collection comprises a wide range of resources that cover the broad spectrum of Islamic literature on biomedical ethics.