Research Guides: Jewish Studies Research Guide: Books

Search for Books

Robert Lindsay Tate Collection for Jewish Studies

The Robert Lindsay Tate Collection for Jewish Studies includes over 5,000 books to support Jewish Studies. Alice Tate donated books from the personal collection of her father, Robert Lindsay Tate to start this collection. She also made a financial donation, which enables the library to purchase new materials selected by the Isaac Swift Distinguished Professor of Jewish Studies. The books in the collection cover subjects such as the history of Judaism, the Holocaust, modern Judaism, studies of sacred Jewish texts and much more.

Browse the Tate Collection for Jewish Studies

Sacred Jewish Texts

The Torah by Inc. Jewish Publication Society, Inc. (Editor)
Call Number: By Request Only ; BS1223 1973

ISBN: 9780827600157

Publication Date: 1992-01-01
The Torah by W. Gunther Plaut (Editor); Bernard J. Bamberger (Commentaries by); William W. Hallo (Contribution by)
Call Number: By Request Only ; BS1225.3 .P55 1981

ISBN: 9780807400555

Publication Date: 1981-10-01

Includes original Hebrew text and the Jewish Publication Society's English translation of the Pentateuch and of the Haftaroth.

JPS Hebrew-English Tanakh by Inc. Jewish Publication Society, Inc. (Editor)
Call Number: Ground Floor Compact Shelving ; BS895 .J4 1999

ISBN: 9780827606562

Publication Date: 1999-05-01

The JPS Hebrew-English Tanakh features the oldest-known complete Hebrew version of the Holy Scriptures, side by side with JPS's English translation.
The Jewish Study Bible by Adele Berlin (Editor); Marc Zvi Brettler (Editor); Michael Fishbane (Editor)
Call Number: Tate Collection--Ground Floor ; BS895 .J4 2004

ISBN: 9780195297515

Publication Date: 2004-01-04
The Hebrew Bible by Robert Alter
Call Number: Ground Floor Compact Shelving ; BS895 .A48 2019

ISBN: 9780393292497

Publication Date: 2018-12-18

Mishneh Torah by Maimonides, Moses, 1135-1204.; Hyamson, Moses, 1863-1949 (editor)
Call Number: Tate Collection. -- Ground Floor ; BM520.84.A213 H9 1974

Publication Date: 1974

V. 1. The book of knowledge.--v. 2. The book of adoration.
English and Hebrew on opposite pages.
Introduction to the Code of Maimonides by Isadore Twersky
Call Number: Tate Collection--Ground Floor ; BM520.84 .T83 1980

ISBN: 9780300028461

Publication Date: 1980

The Babylonian Talmud by Epstein, Isidore
Call Number: Tate Collection--Ground Floor ; BM499.5 .E5 1978

Publication Date: 1978
The Talmud of Jerusalem by Polano, H. (Hymen)
Call Number: Tate Collection--Ground Floor ; BM502 .P62 1956

Publication Date: 1956
The Jerusalem Talmud : Edition, Translation, and Commentary. Tractate Berakhot ; Edition, Translation, and Commentary by Heinrich W. Guggenheimer (Editor)
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 3111850242

Publication Date: 2000-01-01

Tractate Berakhot: Edition, Translation, and Commentary

Links to Jewish Writings

Bibliography of the Hebrew Book
A bibliography of books printed in the Hebrew Language between 1470 and 1960.
Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library
The ongoing project includes a digital library of Dead Sea Scrolls, an index, and scholarly articles. Includes both digitized infrared photos from the 1950s archive and high-definition spectral images of the scrolls in their current state.
Digital Second Edition of Judaica Americana
Judaica Americana chronicles American Jewish book production from the seventeenth century to the beginning of the twentieth century.
Early Jewish Writings
Collection of Jewish documents from antiquity with translations, introductions, and links
Friedberg Jewish Manuscript Project
A comprehensive digital project, providing access to approximately 400,000 fragments of the Cairo Genizah. Free registration is required.
Hebrew Books
Classic Hebrew books available for free download
Jewish Book Culture in the Islamicate World
An international collaborative project with the aim to study Jewish books, their makers, and their readers in the medieval eastern Mediterranean.
Ktiv: International Collection of Digitized Hebrew Manuscripts
A project by the National Library of Israeli (NLI). The project provides access to collections of about thirty libraries, containing manuscripts from early and late Jewish literature.
Mechon Mamre
Makes available and searchable online a variety of classic Jewish texts in Hebrew, Aramaic, and in translation. Among these texts are the Hebrew Bible, Maimonides’ Mishne Torah, the Mishnah, and the Talmud.
Otzar HaHochma
Contains more than 62,400 books on Judaica
Sefaria
Open access resource to Judaic texts, translations (Hebrew and English), and commentaries.
Ben Yehuda Project
A free digital library of Hebrew literature

Reference Works

Cambridge History of Judaism by W. D. Davies (Editor); Louis Finkelstein (Editor)
Call Number: BM155.2 .C35 1984 - 8th Floor

ISBN: 0521218802

The first three volumes of The Cambridge History of Judaism cover the history of the Jews from the Exile in 587 BCE to the early Roman period extending into the third century CE.
History of the Jewish People in the Age of Jesus Christ by Emil Schürer; Matthew W. Black (Editor); Fergus Millar (Editor); Geza Vermes (Editor); Martin Goodman (Editor)
Call Number: 3rd Floor DS122 .S422 1973 (v. 1-3)

ISBN: 0567022420

Critical presentation of the whole evidence concerning Jewish history, institutions, and literature from 175 BC to AD 135; with updated bibliographies.
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism by Geoffrey Wigoder (Editor); Fred Skolnick (Editor); Shmuel Himelstein (Editor)
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 0814793886

The New Encyclopedia of Judaism is a comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that accessibly presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements.
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by John J. Collins (Editor); Daniel C. Harlow (Editor)
Call Number: Tate Collection--8th Floor BM176 .E34 2010

ISBN: 9780802825490

The Dictionary of Early Judaism is the first reference work devoted exclusively to Second Temple Judaism (fourth century b.c.e. through second century c.e.).
The Routledge Dictionary of Judaism by Alan Avery-Peck; Jacob Neusner
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 1138167266

Compiled by two internationally renowned experts, and with over 600 wide-ranging and informative entries, The Routledge Dictionary of Judaism provides the reader with an invaluable reference aid to all areas of the religion.
Encyclopedia Judaica by Fred Skolnik; Michael Berenbaum
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 0028659287

Publication Date: 2006-12-12

With more than 22,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, this second edition incorporates more than three decades of changes and the latest scholarship-such as new archaeological sites, theories and analytical methodologies.
The Cambridge Companion to the Talmud and Rabbinic Literature by Martin S. Jaffee (Editor); Charlotte Elisheva Fonrobert (Editor)
Call Number: Tate Collection--8th Floor BM504 .C36 2007

ISBN: 9780521843904

Publication Date: 2007-06-04

Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls
The definitive account of what is known about the Dead Sea Scrolls.