Sandra Bailey is active in the Charlotte LGBTQ community, longtime member of One Voice Chorus, and co-chair of First Tuesday. Collection consists of materials donated during Bailey's oral history interview (conducted by Tina Wright). Materials are materials primarily from 1991-1995, but also includes a copy of Bailey's 2008 book.
Barret's published works focus on parenting, issues of grief and loss, and clinical services to the sexual minority community. In addition to his professional writing, Barret has been active in promoting social justice, both in his home community, and in the American Counseling Association. This is a small collection comprised of correspondence and clippings.
Keith Bernard was born in Rock Hill, SC and graduated from Winthrop University. He later attended the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. The bulk of the collection documents Bernard's participation in numerous Charlotte-area LGBTQ organizations.
Josh Burford has done extensive work to preserve and make accessible queer history of the American South. The bulk of the collection relates to the establishment and collecting efforts of the King-Henry-Brockington LGBTQ+ Archive, as well as research into the history of Charlotte's LGBTQ community.
Campus Pride is a national nonprofit organization for student leaders and campus groups working to create a safer college environment for LGBT students. Materials include organizational records, publications and ephemera, and teaching materials.
The inception of Charlotte's Black Gay Pride event began in 2002. Charlotte NC Black Gay Pride (CNCBGP) became Charlotte Black Gay Pride (CBGP) in August of 2008 with 501C3 non-profit status. Collected materials from Charlotte Black Gay Pride, circa 2013. Included are a timeline of Charlotte Black Gay Pride events dating from 2002 to the present, 1 polo shirt with the Charlotte Black Gay Pride logo, and 1 poster from the 2013 Charlotte Black Gay Pride parade.
The Charlotte Business Guild was organized in 1992 to foster a network of business contacts and friendships, encourage fellowship, and support among business, professional and charitable pursuits, and provide and promote positive role models in Charlotte's lesbian and gay community. Records comprise administrative records, publications, and memorabilia of the Charlotte Business Guild.
The mission of the Charlotte Lesbian and Gay Fund is to fund organizations that support the LGBTQ community through the pooled financial resources of individuals, corporations, and foundations. The collection contains 5 programs from the Charlotte Lesbian and Gay Fund Happening from 2008-2012.
Charlotte Pride presents the annual lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning and queer (LGBTQ) Pride festival and other events in the Queen City. The annual festival is the largest LGBTQ Pride event in the Carolinas. The records consist of ephemera from the Charlotte Pride parade held August 24-25, 2013.
This collection consists of material related to the 1993 March on Washington for Lesbian, Gay and Bi-Equal Rights. It contains several CDs from LGBT groups, such as One Voice, the Seattle Men's Chorus and the San Francisco Gay Men's Chorus.
Originally opened in 1996, Hartigan’s was part dance club, part sports bar, part Irish pub and part restaurant. It attracted a diverse and unique clientele, with a mix of LGBT and straight ally patrons for lunches and dinners and women party-goers on the weekends. Hartigan's closed in 2014. The Hartigan’s Irish Pub and Restaurant Memorabilia collection consists of menus, posters, banners, a T shirt and a signed framed photograph.
Sue Henry is a prominent gay rights activist in Charlotte, NC. She was owner of Rising Moon Books & Beyond bookstore, the first out lesbian to run for Mayor of Charlotte, and an active member of several political and social LGBTQ organizations. The collection primarily documents in her participation in the Charlotte LGBTQ+ community in the 1990s, but also includes materials from her childhood and later life.
Lenore Jones Deutsch holds a masters degree in Clinical Psychology and maintained a private practice in Charlotte, North Carolina, where she worked as a psychologist, seminar leader, and consultant. Personal and professional papers including organizational records, magazine and newspaper articles, political buttons, books, posters, decorated HIV vest, brochures.
The Frances Curry Kerr records related to inclusion at Myers Park Baptist Church is comprised of five folders of printed records related to congregational dialogue and the resulting policy changes concerning matters of sexuality at Myers Park Baptist Church. In particular the records document the question of inclusion for LGBT people in the congregation.
The Donaldson Wells King Papers include correspondence, writings, personal memorabilia, documentation of King's involvement in the Charlotte LGBT community, as well as subject files and assorted publications.
The collection documents Kirsch's work in the LGBT community as well as his work in theatre throughout the country. Includes press releases, brochures, newsletters, correspondence, playbills, CDs and VHS tapes.
The Linda Lawyer writings and memorabilia is a small collection which mainly consists of printed copies of her monthly column, “The Soft Spot,” published in the newspaper Q Notes between 1988 and 1992.
The LGBT Community Center of Charlotte seeks to promote diversity, acceptance, and visibility of the LGBT community through original and collaborative programming and events, and by providing and inclusive, welcoming, and affordable environment for all. Includes financial records, articles of incorporation, board of trustees and executive committee meeting minutes, photographic prints, digital photographs on cd,
Darryl Logsdon, a resident of Charlotte, North Carolina, was involved in LGBTQ community activism, serving on a range of boards and projects. The collection consists of LGBTQ ephemera produced in Charlotte, North Carolina.
Jim Long II was born in Gastonia, NC and lived in Los Angeles, CA until 2000. He was the first openly Gay city councilman from Bessemer City, NC. The collection documents Long's personal life and political career, as well as his involvement in the LGBTQ community in Los Angeles.
Mecklenburg Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Political Action Committee (MeckPAC) was founded in 1998 as an organization to advance LGBT issues in Mecklenburg County. The collection contains materials related to the operation of MeckPac from its founding in 1998 to 2010 including Voter Guides, Correspondence, Meeting Agendas, News Clippings and Photos.
Kimberly Melton is from Charlotte with a long history of working with the LGBTQ community. The collection primarily documents lesbian activism in Charlotte, NC and includes: WOW newsletters, materials from National Lesbian Conference, Lambda Connections, and more.
One Voice exists to present a public face and voice of the LGBT community. The One Voice Chorus records include: recordings of concerts on various formats (VHS, CD), programs, records of business and financial transactions, personnel records, documents relating to the selection of music and performers, feedback forms, and other materials.
Included are materials generated by Pride Publishing and Typesetting, Inc., of Charlotte, publisher of QNotes, one of the oldest, continuously published LGBT community newspapers on the East Coast and the oldest in the Carolinas.
Records of RAIN (Regional AIDS Interfaith Network,) an organization founded in 1992 in Charlotte, North Carolina and dedicated to addressing the needs of persons with HIV/AIDS disease in the Carolinas. The collection largely documents events and activities including fund raising, public education, and organizing volunteers.
Papers documenting activities of One Voice Chorus as well as issues in the LGBT community. Includes slides of the One Voice chorus and a calendar of the organization, as well as news clippings concerning LGBT issues.
After relocating to the Charlotte-Mecklenburg area, Don Rosenthal became active in two LGBT organizations; Mecklenburg LGBT Political Action Committee (MeckPAC) and Equality North Carolina (ENC). The bulk of the materials derive from Rosenthal's direct involvement with MeckPAC and Equality NC.
Time Out Youth's mission mission is to support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning youth by offering vital programs, fostering unconditional acceptance, and creating safe spaces for self-expression through leadership, community support and advocacy. The collection includes records of programs and events sponsored by TOY, training documentation, and collected statistical data. Materials date from circa 2000-2010.
Diana Travis is a local Charlotte activist and a member of the Charlotte LGBTQ community. The bulk of the collection documents the Better Homos and Gardens events, but also includes correspondence, and newspaper clippings and articles.
Tom Warshauer, Community and Commerce Manager in the City’s Neighborhood and Business Services Department, has worked for the City of Charlotte for 20 years developing and managing programs to revitalize distressed neighborhoods and business districts. He is also an active volunteer and board member for environmental, arts, social equity and LGBT organizations. The bulk of the collection documents Tom Warshauer's involvement in local LGBT organizations.
The collection concerns the perspectives, opinions, and creativity of Julia Willis, a lesbian author in the late twentieth century. The collection consists of her writings: short stories, poems, articles, book drafts, and play scripts.