It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Photocopies of scrapbooks kept by Baxter, Charlotte mayor (1943-49) and city council member (1935-41, 1951-59). Includes correspondence, clippings, speeches, and other material relating primarily to his political and civic activities.
Official papers as mayor of Charlotte (1969-77), dating primarily from his last term. Includes correspondence, reports, and speeches relating to the administration of city government, especially community development, roads, and mass transit.
Chiefly official papers of Charlotte's first four-term mayor (1961-69). Comprised of subject files, correspondence, and speeches documenting almost a decade of change, particularly in regard to desegregation, and reflecting the increasing role of the federal government in addressing urban problems.
Daniel G. Clodfelter was the 57th mayor of Charlotte, NC serving from April 9, 2014 – December 7, 2015. He was appointed by the Charlotte City Council after the resignation of Mayor Patrick Cannon. The small collection primarily consists of expense reports.
Comprised exclusively of Gantt's official files as the first African-American mayor of Charlotte (1983-87). Includes correspondence, reports, and speeches on such topics as the controversy over a site for the new coliseum, Charlotte's bid for an NBA franchise, and traffic congestion. Contains no records documenting his earlier city council tenure, his 1990 U.S. Senate campaign, or his professional career as an architect.
Official papers as mayor of Charlotte (1977-79). Includes subject files and correspondence relating to the administration of city government, with an emphasis on community development and the debate over a thoroughfare in southeast Charlotte and Mecklenburg County.
Frank McNinch was the mayor of Charlotte, NC from 1912 to 1917, and later was appointed to serve on the Federal Communications Commission in 1930, becoming its Chairman in 1933. The collection contains mostly the papers he generated while working for these two federal commissions.
Papers of a mayor of Charlotte (1927-29) and judge of the Domestic Relations and Juvenile Court (1935-49). Includes speeches, arguments of Redd as a defense attorney in murder cases, correspondence, clippings, photographs, and material on the United Confederate Veterans Reunion in Charlotte (1929). Also includes papers of Redd's wife, Bessie Flowe Redd, and her father, J. Lee Flowe, a grocer. Her papers include material about the DAR Liberty Hall chapter of Charlotte and an autographed photograph of evangelist Billy Sunday.
The collection documents Jennifer Roberts' term as the 58th mayor of Charlotte, North Carolina and includes materials related to Charlotte's Nondiscrimination Ordinance, NC House Bill 2, the police shooting of Keith Lamont Scott, and the response to Scott's death.
Papers documenting the two mayoral terms (1991-95) of Richard Vinroot as the mayor of Charlotte, N.C. The papers highlight the city council, the chamber of commerce, community development, consolidation of city and county government and services, crime, cultural relations, education, housing, municipal services, reorganization of departments, and privatization of services, and sports.