Benezit Dictionary of Artists is a comprehensive and definitive resource for artists’ biographies, published since 1911. This resource includes 149,000 biographies as well as auction records, exhibition histories, and over 11,000 images of artists’ signatures and stamps of sale.
Encyclopedias and Reference sources in Arts, Biography, Education, Environment, History, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science and Social Science.
This encyclopedia spans every art form, medium, and civilization of the era, tracing the development of the art forms in Classical civilizations.
The encyclopedia contains hundreds of updated, revised, and expanded entries from the expansive scholarship in the Dictionary of Art and Grove Art Online, as well as dozens of new, specially-commissioned entries.
Offers the most comprehensive, up-to-date information on all aspects of this fundamental area of the visual art, featuring fascinating historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art.
Contains over 1500 A-Z entries covering all aspects of architecture.
The Oxford Companion to Architecture is a new reference book on a popular and much-debated subject. It contains over 1500 A-Z entries covering all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions. It is particularly strong in its coverage of architecture around the world, and of modern and vernacular architecture. The Companion is strongly rooted in an approach to architecture that looks at its social, technical, and practical aspects, as well as viewing it from an art-historical perspective. With high-quality illustrations to complement and enhance the text, and a bibliographic essay, the Companion is an invaluable reference resource for architects, designers, teachers and students of architecture and architectural history at high school and college level, and the general reader interested in architecture.
Oxford Dictionary of Art by 