Research Guides: Art History Research Guide: Find Videos

Find Videos in the Library Catalog

The library provides access to videos both online and as DVDs/VHS.

Click to enlarge images

Streaming Media Collections

Search Across Collections

You can use the library catalog to search across our collections for relevant films. Simply enter your search terms (keywords or title), search & limit to eVideo in the Format column. Any title with a "View Now" link is available through one of our streaming media collections.

Alexander Street Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online includes streaming access to documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.
BBC Shakespeare Plays This link opens in a new window
Videos featuring some of Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent in the production of Shakespeare's plays
Dance in Video (Volumes I and II) This link opens in a new window
Contains over nine hundred hours of dance videos - concert videos and documentaries, covering ballet, tap, contemporary, experimental, and improvisation, among others.
Ethnographic Video Online I and II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window
A core streaming video collection introducing cultural groups and practices from around the globe. The collection features documentaries, interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This resource provides high quality streaming videos about a range of subjects. The videos include award winning documentaries plus interviews, training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Films on Demand: World Cinema Collection This link opens in a new window
With feature films from directors across the globe, this unique collection includes the best of the silent era, international directors, American and European masterpieces from the mid-20th century, and award-winning contemporary films. The collection shines a light on the history of cinema while also providing a glimpse into the cultures and issues of countries around the world.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains award-winning films, documentaries, interviews, and archival footage exploring the social, cultural, and political evolution of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a multi-disciplinary collection of documentary and educational films that have been assigned to courses for in-class instruction and out-of-class assignments.
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
Website that delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films that introduce audiences to artistic innovators who are defining the future of dance, theater and music.
PBS Video Collection (in Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
A collection of high-quality documentary and educational video programs produced for the Public Broadcasting Corporation.

Films through the Public Library

Gain access to additional films through Kanopy with a membership with the Charlotte Mecklenburg Public Library. Get your virtual card online.

Kanopy provides access to more than 30,000 independent and documentary films ─ titles of unique social and cultural value from The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Media Education Foundation, and thousands of independent filmmakers.