The Rare Book Collection can be found in the Special Collections Department on the 10th floor of the Library. The collection contains rare and unique published works focused in American and British Literature, Children's Literature, and regional history as well as a broad range of other topics.
New South Voices provides access to more than 700 transcripts of interviews, narratives, and conversations documenting life in the Charlotte, North Carolina region in the twentieth century, including the experiences and language of recent immigrants to the area. The interviews were conducted by UNC Charlotte faculty, students and staff as well as several community organizations. Many transcripts are accompanied by audio recordings, and new recordings are continually being added to the site. These interviews are part of the Oral History Collections in the Department of Special Collections at J. Murrey Atkins Library, UNC Charlotte.
While using manuscript collections, please help us preserve our materials by following a few rules:
1. Only use pencil when using Special Collections materials.
2. Use only one folder at a time.
3. Handle documents with care by turning pages in folders as if you were turning the pages of a book.
4. Keep the documents in the same order.
5. Do not place personal items such as paper/notes books on top of Special Collections materials when taking notes.
Manuscript Collections consist primarily of unpublished documents such as literary manuscripts, letters, diaries, cartoons, photographs, architectural drawings, and organizational, church and governmental records. Also included are some printed material, microforms, audio recordings, films and other items. Atkins Library's Manuscript Collections focus on materials related to the people and history of the greater Charlotte region, with particular attention to the Charlotte/Mecklenburg area.
More information about the materials held in Special Collections are available through the Library Catalog, the Special Collections website, and in the repository.
