Manuscript and Archival Collections

The Collection contains an assortment of records, photographs and ephemera accumulated by A. Grant Whitney and his daughter, Julie Whitney Austin, in their administration of the autumn's Festival in the Park, an annual weekend event in Charlotte, NC, since 1964. Also includes information on an off-shoot of the Festival held in the spring, called the Kings Drive Art Walk.

Collection contains the papers of Leon K. Gutmann, an entrepreneur in Charlotte, North Carolina, who dealt in art and antiques from 1946 to about 1975. This collection contains papers concerning his role in World War II, his art and antique business, gardening, European travels, and his participation in community performing arts.

This collection contains the papers and photographs of the Leary-Love family of Charlotte, North Carolina, and Sao Paulo, Brazil; and includes primarily the papers of Rose Leary Love and her son, George Leary Love. For the most part, these papers begin in the early twentieth century (around the 1920s), and end in 1996. This collection includes a wide array of materials, including papers, sound recordings, print photographs, tintypes, slides, transparencies, negatives (in strips, sheets and oversize sheets), posters, compact discs, and even X-rays.

Corporate, financial and program records of Spirit Square Center for Arts and Education, Inc. in Charlotte, N.C. During its 21-year existence (1976-1997) Spirit Square Center provided a venue for musical and theatrical performances, art classes and studios, and gallery space.

Papers relating to Tilly's novel, Golden Girl (New York: Farrar, Straus, Giroux, 1985), which won the 1986 Juvenile Literature Award presented by the North Carolina division of the American Association of University Women. Includes drafts, correspondence with and notes of her editor, pages and galley proofs, and cassette recording of the author reading her work.

Records of Charlotte's second oldest book club (founded 1893), including yearbooks, newspaper clippings, and invitations.