The collection contains a small assortment of materials generated by the Campus Freethought Alliance at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, in 2001. This organization was primarily concerned with atheism and agnosticism.
Campus Pride is a national nonprofit organization for student leaders and campus groups working to create a safer college environment for LGBT students. Materials include organizational records, publications and ephemera, and teaching materials.
The collection includes case files generated by Ferguson, Stein, Chambers, Gresham and Sumter Law Firm in the firm's work representing James Swann, one of the plaintiffs, on the Capacchione v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools case.
Julius Chambers was an African-American civil rights attorney. The collection consists of files related to his firm's representation of Darius and Vera Swann and other plaintiffs in the landmark case, Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, in which the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that federal courts were constitutionally authorized to exercise broad powers to oversee and produce solutions to achieve school integration.
Records of a committee established in 1961 by the mayor of Charlotte to help ease racial tensions and to assist in the gradual desegregation of public facilities. Includes correspondence, minutes, and clippings relating to the committee and its predecessor, the Friendly Relations Committee.
Thereasa Delerine (T.D.) Elder is active in community nursing, church work, and the Charlotte African American community, particularly in efforts to preserve Charlotte's African American history. Materials document the importance of African Americans in politics and community, the value of a healthy and safe neighborhood, and access of education and employment.
The collection contains two items: a handbill entitled "Military Warning" dated September 6, 1934, issued by Stephen B. Dolley; and a letter, dated September 12, 1934, written by George Rembert to Mrs. F. R. Summers, concerning the strike.
Papers of a co-founder of the Communist Labor Party and the Communist Party, USA (Majority Group), who later became an avid anti-Communist. Consists predominately of printed material dating from 1949-65, but also includes correspondence, speeches, writings, research notes, and financial records from all periods of his life.
This collection consists of material related to the 1993 March on Washington for Lesbian, Gay and Bi-Equal Rights. It contains several CDs from LGBT groups, such as One Voice, the Seattle Men's Chorus and the San Francisco Gay Men's Chorus.
Sue Henry is a prominent gay rights activist in Charlotte, NC. She was owner of Rising Moon Books & Beyond bookstore, the first out lesbian to run for Mayor of Charlotte, and an active member of several political and social LGBTQ organizations. The collection primarily documents in her participation in the Charlotte LGBTQ+ community in the 1990s, but also includes materials from her childhood and later life.
Lenore Jones Deutsch holds a masters degree in Clinical Psychology and maintained a private practice in Charlotte, North Carolina, where she worked as a psychologist, seminar leader, and consultant. Personal and professional papers including organizational records, magazine and newspaper articles, political buttons, books, posters, decorated HIV vest, brochures.
The Frances Curry Kerr records related to inclusion at Myers Park Baptist Church is comprised of five folders of printed records related to congregational dialogue and the resulting policy changes concerning matters of sexuality at Myers Park Baptist Church. In particular the records document the question of inclusion for LGBT people in the congregation.
The Donaldson Wells King Papers include correspondence, writings, personal memorabilia, documentation of King's involvement in the Charlotte LGBT community, as well as subject files and assorted publications.
The collection documents Kirsch's work in the LGBT community as well as his work in theatre throughout the country. Includes press releases, brochures, newsletters, correspondence, playbills, CDs and VHS tapes.
The Linda Lawyer writings and memorabilia is a small collection which mainly consists of printed copies of her monthly column, “The Soft Spot,” published in the newspaper Q Notes between 1988 and 1992.
This collection contains the papers and photographs of the Leary-Love family of Charlotte, North Carolina, and Sao Paulo, Brazil; and includes primarily the papers of Rose Leary Love and her son, George Leary Love. For the most part, these papers begin in the early twentieth century (around the 1920s), and end in 1996. This collection includes a wide array of materials, including papers, sound recordings, print photographs, tintypes, slides, transparencies, negatives (in strips, sheets and oversize sheets), posters, compact discs, and even X-rays.
Pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, and other printed items published by various radical groups based largely in the Midwest, especially Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Material addresses such issues as the Vietnam War; United States political involvement in Latin America and other regions; civil rights, racism, and black power; socialism and communism and their relevance to the United States; economics and labor; and women's liberation.
Records of the Charlotte and Metrolina chapters of the National Organization for Women, and date from 1972 to 2009. The collection contains files that were produced as a result of the chapters' organizational functions, and also concern issues of interest to the chapter; key among them was the Equal Rights Amendment, and abortion rights.
Primarily material relating to the involvement of this Textile Workers Union of America official in a strike at Harriet-Henderson Mills in Henderson, N.C. (1958-61), his conviction and subsequent imprisonment amidst allegations of a state-supported frame-up, and his eventual pardon. Includes correspondence, transcripts of radio broadcasts, clippings, audio-visual material, and manuscripts of his book.
Forty-four papers of a Gaston County resident, including broadsides (ca. 1917) published by the Equal Suffrage Association of North Carolina and the National Woman Suffrage Publishing Company, Inc. and correspondence and printed material (1931-33) concerning activities of the League of Women Voters, including its opposition to the Equal Rights Amendment.
Papers of a Charlotte artist, poet, civil rights activist, and UNC Charlotte alumnus, highlighting his role as one of the Charlotte Three and his interest in the civil rights movement. Consists primarily of correspondence, legal documents, and other material concerning his controversial arrest, trial and conviction for arson; subsequent legal proceedings; and the activities of the North Carolina Political Prisoners' Committee.
The Catherine M. Reid collection is almost entirely concentrated on the subject of domestic violence, and public and private agencies dedicated to promoting public awareness of this issue, as well as providing services for people experiencing domestic violence. Most of the material in this collection concerns domestic violence in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg area first, and North Carolina, and other states to a lesser extent.
Papers of a member and grand dragon of the Ku Klux Klan in South Carolina, primarily from the 1960s to the 1980s. This collection consists primarily of publications of various Klan organizations, but also includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, periodicals, film footage, and personal information.
The photos, recordings, and other items in the collection were collected by the Levine Museum of the New South for their community-created exhibit, K(NO)W Justice K(NO)W Peace, which opened in January, 2017.
The collection primarily consists of newspaper clippings and letters collected by Frank O. Sherrill. Sherrill was the co-founder of the S&W Cafeteria chain, which, like many other restaurants in the South during the time, denied service to black patrons through the early 1960s. By 1963, civil rights supporters pushed for desegregation of public accommodations throughout the South. S&W faced pressure from the public and from civil rights organizations to desegregate their restaurants, which they ultimately did.
Collection consists of research materials compiled by Dr. Robert Samuel Smith for his 2008 book, Race, Labor, and Civil Rights: Griggs v. Duke Power and the Struggle for Equal Employment Opportunity. Materials include court documents, archival research materials, secondary works and more
Records (mostly minute books and books of stock certificates) of the Textile Mill Supply Company, the Industrial and Hardware Supply Company, and the Industrial and Textile Supply Company, of Charlotte, NC from 1898 to 1997.
Time Out Youth's mission mission is to support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning youth by offering vital programs, fostering unconditional acceptance, and creating safe spaces for self-expression through leadership, community support and advocacy. The collection includes records of programs and events sponsored by TOY, training documentation, and collected statistical data. Materials date from circa 2000-2010.
Papers, photographs, newspaper clippings, radio broadcast transcripts and sound recordings of Dr. Joseph Samuel Nathaniel Tross, a minister in the AME Zion Church, editor of the Charlotte Post, and civil rights leader in Charlotte, NC from the 1930s until his death in 1971.
Papers of a Charlotte attorney relating to his defense of the Charlotte Mecklenburg Board of Education in the landmark case, Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education. Consists primarily of legal documentation of proceedings and briefs prepared by defendants and plaintiffs for presentation to the U.S. District Court for Western North Carolina, the U.S. Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, and the U.S. Supreme Court.
Tom Warshauer, Community and Commerce Manager in the City’s Neighborhood and Business Services Department, has worked for the City of Charlotte for 20 years developing and managing programs to revitalize distressed neighborhoods and business districts. He is also an active volunteer and board member for environmental, arts, social equity and LGBT organizations. The bulk of the collection documents Tom Warshauer's involvement in local LGBT organizations.
Declassified documents copied from Federal Bureau of Investigation records regarding Robert Franklin Williams, a civil rights leader and black revolutionary from Monroe, North Carolina. All records in the collection were acquired through the FBI under the Freedom of Information Act (United States Code, Section 552).
Contains a wide assortment of papers, reports and records accumulated by Louise Woods, while serving as the representative from the fourth district on the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, in Charlotte, North Carolina, from 1995-2005.