Annie Alexander was born in Mecklenberg County, NC in 1864 and graduated from Woman's Medical College in Philadelphia in 1884. She returned to North Carolina in 1887 as the first woman to practice medicine in the South. The collection includes letters she wrote to her father, Dr. John Brevard Alexander, while a student and intern at the Women's Medical College in Philadelphia (1884-85); patient records; financial accounts; essays on medical topics; and newspaper clippings.
The Charlotte Branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) began in 1913 as a college club for literary study. Minutes, bulletins, yearbooks, scrapbooks, and other material reflecting activities and growth of the organization. Also includes information on the state and national organizations.
Primarily non-business related correspondence of a Charlotte textile industrialist, civic leader, and philanthropist. The bulk of the collection relates to Barnhardt's donation of copies of Cornelia Wearn Henderson's Early Charlotte and Mecklenburg County for Children (1968) to local schools and colleges.
Barret's published works focus on parenting, issues of grief and loss, and clinical services to the sexual minority community. In addition to his professional writing, Barret has been active in promoting social justice, both in his home community, and in the American Counseling Association. This is a small collection comprised of correspondence and clippings.
The collection includes case files generated by Ferguson, Stein, Chambers, Gresham and Sumter Law Firm in the firm's work representing James Swann, one of the plaintiffs, on the Capacchione v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools case.
Materials relating to Carver College, which was operated by the Charlotte City School Board (1949-58) and the Charlotte Community College System (1958-63) as the predominately black counterpart of predominately white Charlotte College. Contains catalogs, annual reports, curriculum proposals, planning documents, and building plans.
Julius Chambers was an African-American civil rights attorney. The collection consists of files related to his firm's representation of Darius and Vera Swann and other plaintiffs in the landmark case, Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, in which the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that federal courts were constitutionally authorized to exercise broad powers to oversee and produce solutions to achieve school integration.
Collection consists of letters received from the Charlotte School of Law by various elected officials and members of the community, primarily when it received full accreditation from the American Bar Association. Additionally, there are a few school newsletters, programs and memorabilia items.
The collection contains papers produced by Jack Claiborne over the course of his career in journalism and media communications, beginning in 1941 and spanning until his retirement as the Associate Vice Chancellor of Public Relations at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte in 2000.
Personal papers of Dean Wallace Colvard (1913-2007), the first chancellor of UNC Charlotte (1966-1978). Includes files regarding his employment at North Carolina’s Brevard College; Swannanoa, North Carolina’s Mountain Research Farms; and at North Carolina State, Mississippi State University, and the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, as well as his involvement with various organizations and committees such as the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics and his numerous publications, including his autobiography, his reflection on racial relations during his time as president of Mississippi State University, and his history of University Research Park.
Personal papers of Cone, director and president of Charlotte College (1947-65) and vice chancellor of student affairs and community relations, UNC Charlotte (1966-73). Includes correspondence, biographical material, files relating to local civic organizations, records as trustee of Coker College, and cassette recordings and transcripts of interviews.
Professional and personal documents of Chris Folk, longtime Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools administrator and the district's spokesman from 1958 to 1992. Files include public relations materials, personnel directories, yearbooks, photographs, and printed materials related to public education in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg region.
Personal papers of Elbert Kirtley (E.K.) Fretwell, Jr. (1923-2012), the second chancellor of UNC Charlotte (1979-1989). Includes files regarding his service as Vice Consul in Czechoslovakia; his education and early teaching days; his positions at City University of New York, State University of New York at Buffalo, and UNC Charlotte; his involvement with various associations and commissions concerning higher education and transportation, including numerous trips abroad; his publications, including research on women presidents in higher education in the 1970s; and his involvement with the Boy Scouts and the Rotary Club.
Miscellaneous papers of a Charlotte educator and state legislator. Contains correspondence, photographs, awards, an essay describing the development of UNC Charlotte, and material about Charlotte-Mecklenburg schools, particularly Central and West Charlotte high schools.
Chiefly correspondence, minutes, and other material documenting the organization and work of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Kindergarten Association. Also includes material from the Mecklenburg Early Childhood Education Committee and from several similar state-wide associations.
Personal, family, and professional papers of one of Charlotte's first psychologists, who established the Psychological Service Center in 1946. Includes correspondence, financial and legal records, speeches, notes, copies of his newspaper columns and other writings, transcriptions of radio broadcasts, and photographs.
Papers of a Charlotte attorney relating to his defense of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education in the landmark case, Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education. Consists primarily of legal documentation of proceedings and briefs prepared by defendants and plaintiffs for presentation to the U.S. District Court for Western North Carolina, the U.S. Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, and the U.S. Supreme Court.
Abridged transcription of a diary of a native of Amenia, N.Y., who moved to Raleigh in 1815 to teach school. Describes her journey to Raleigh by sea and stagecoach, social events in Raleigh, and subsequent travels and teaching (1822-41) in Augusta, Ga., Amenia, Salisbury, N.C., and Charlotte.
The Introduction to the English Language Oral Histories contains forty one literary projects developed in 1995 and 1996. Each of these projects includes a transcription of an oral interview, a linguistics analysis of the interview subject and a historical analysis.
Collection contains a diverse assortment of papers concerning the Irwin Avenue Open Elementary School mostly from 1973 to 2004. These records include such things as administrative, statistical and demographic information about the IAOS, promotional materials, papers concerning theories in alternative forms of education (with particular emphasis on the "open school" approach to teaching) and other papers generated by students.
Papers of a Charlotte businessman and engineer relating to his role in promoting Charlotte College as a community college and technical institute and in securing for it status as a four year, state supported college. Includes minutes, reports, and recommendations of the Charlotte Chamber of Commerce Education Committee; correspondence with the State Advisory Budget Commission, other state government officials, and individuals in the University of North Carolina system; statistical and research information; and publicity material
Post card (2/23/1949) from Kuralt, then a student at Charlotte's Central High School, to his journalism teacher Anne Batten, describing his visit to Washington, DC as one of the four winners of a national Voice of Democracy speech writing contest.
Records of the Metrolina Library Association, an association open to anyone affiliated with or interested in libraries in the twelve-county "Metrolina" area. Contains official records of the association, which merged with the Mecklenburg Library Association in 1986 and retained the name of the former. Includes minutes, financial material, correspondence, membership information, and more.
This manuscript collection was accumulated by Dr. A. Roslyn Mickelson, a professor of Sociology at the University of North Carolina Charlotte, in her role as an expert witness in litigation between the Charlotte Mecklenburg School system and the parents of Christina Capacchione.
The collection contains syllabi for the undergraduate and graduate course: Gay and Lesbian Issues in Social Work Practice that Morrow taught at UNC Charlotte beginning in 1999. Also includes textbooks created by Morrow and her colleagues based on material in these courses.
The records of the North Carolina College Personnel Association includes annual conference materials, bylaws, correspondence, financial material, membership information, minutes and reports, since its inception in 1966.
Records of the state professional association for persons engaged in any phase of counseling, personnel, and guidance work (formerly known as the North Carolina Personnel and Guidance Association and the North Carolina Association for Counseling and Development).
Mostly letters written by a native of Lebanon, Tennessee, while a student (1865-66) at Ogontz Seminary for Young Ladies in Philadelphia and prior to and during her marriage (1869-76) to Charles A. Perry, a businessman of Weston, Missouri.
Papers of the chair of the Citizens Advisory Group (CAG), formed in 1973 to develop pupil assignment guidelines for integrating Charlotte-Mecklenburg schools. Includes clippings, correspondence, findings and recommendations, reports, worksheets, notes, the CAG plan for pupil reassignment, and the joint proposal for school assignment that was ultimately approved.
Papers of a key supporter of UNC Charlotte, relating to his membership on the boards of Charlotte College and UNC Charlotte, the UNC system, and other state-wide groups concerned with higher education.
Manuscripts and research material collected by the author of "A Retrospective Vision" (1977), which traces the development of UNC Charlotte during its first decade, 1965-75. Includes drafts and research notes; transcripts and tapes of interviews with faculty, students, staff, and other associates; and copies of the book in various stages of printing.
Collection is a small assortment of papers and scrapbooks produced by Winifred Barbour Simpson, from 1931 to 1984. The most notable items in the collection are her scrapbooks (which mostly concern her attendance of Charlotte Technical High School) and the papers that she and her (future) husband produced during WWII.
Corporate, financial and program records of Spirit Square Center for Arts and Education, Inc. in Charlotte, N.C. During its 21-year existence (1976-1997) Spirit Square Center provided a venue for musical and theatrical performances, art classes and studios, and gallery space.
This collection includes papers of Gerson Stroud, an educator and principal in the public school system in Charlotte, NC, in the second half of the twentieth century. His papers reflect his personal life and career in education, including his attention to assisting African-American youth.
Research notes, drafts, and two bound volumes of Tarlton's thesis, "The Development of the Library of Charlotte College, 1946-July 1, 1965," written for the completion of her Master of Science in Library Science from UNC at Chapel Hill in 1966. Tarlton was a staff member of Atkins Library from 1961-68 and later became director of Dacus Library at Winthrop College, Rock Hill, S.C.
Papers of a Charlotte attorney relating to his defense of the Charlotte Mecklenburg Board of Education in the landmark case, Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education. Consists primarily of legal documentation of proceedings and briefs prepared by defendants and plaintiffs for presentation to the U.S. District Court for Western North Carolina, the U.S. Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, and the U.S. Supreme Court.
Office files of Loy H. Witherspoon, founding chair of the UNC Charlotte Department of Religious Studies. Collection is comprised primarily of correspondence and reflects both UNCC and non-UNCC related material.
Contains a wide assortment of papers, reports and records accumulated by Louise Woods, while serving as the representative from the fourth district on the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, in Charlotte, North Carolina, from 1995-2005.