Manuscript and Archival Collections

Personal papers, correspondence and memorabilia from Anita S. Brown, personal friend of Harry Golden. Includes materials from her nearly 30 years at Eastern Air Lines.

Papers of the Caldwell and Davidson families of Rosedale plantation in Mecklenburg County, N.C. Includes medical account books (1824-47) of Dr. David Thomas Caldwell; land records and surveys (1833-1942); journal (1837) of Sarah Frew Davidson; correspondence (1861-1984); plantation account books (1869-85); and photographs of family members and of Rosedale, including images of the latter by Frances Benjamin Johnston and Bayard Wootten.

Letter from Queen Charlotte to her son William (later King William IV) admonishing him for his melancholia while at school in Germany.

Personal papers of Cone, director and president of Charlotte College (1947-65) and vice chancellor of student affairs and community relations, UNC Charlotte (1966-73). Includes correspondence, biographical material, files relating to local civic organizations, records as trustee of Coker College, and cassette recordings and transcripts of interviews.

Twenty-one items (including essays, newspaper clippings and magazine articles) concerning primarily the parentage of Abraham Lincoln. Other material includes an essay by Daniels concerning the social history of Fremont, NC and Aycock family genealogy.

Dale Earnhardt "The Intimidator" collectable plaque or memorabilia with authentication card mounted guarantees that the piece of Goodyear tire on this plaque came from racing great, Dale Earnhardt.

Letter to Allen Thorndike Rice, publisher of the North American Review, concerning an article (probably "Perpetual Forces") he expected to have ready for the September, 1877 issue.

Collection consists primarily of illustrations of Whitman.

Papers of a journalist, best selling author, and civil libertarian. Consists chiefly of material generated as editor (1944-68) of the Charlotte-based Carolina Israelite but also documenting his involvement in the Democratic Party, the civil rights movement, and Jewish issues. Includes extensive correspondence files, manuscripts and research materials for books and articles, speeches, financial records, publications, photographs, and material by and about Carl Sandburg and his family.

Part two of papers of a journalist, best selling author, and civil libertarian. Consists chiefly of material generated as editor (1944-68) of the Charlotte-based Carolina Israelite but also documenting his involvement in the Democratic Party, the civil rights movement, and Jewish issues. Includes extensive correspondence files, manuscripts and research materials for books and articles, speeches, financial records, publications, and photographs.

Collection includes personal and business records, including clippings, articles, photographs, legal/financial records, and memorabilia documenting Dale Halton and the Pepsi-Cola Bottling Company of Charlotte.

Primarily material relating to her book, Early Charlotte and Mecklenburg County for Children (1968). Also includes clippings and notes on local history.

Jackson's six page, handwritten essay is a commentary on the visit of President Theodore Roosevelt to Charlotte on October 19, 1905.

Collection consists of four VHS and two U-Matic videotapes of interviews conducted between 1975 and 1989 by UNC Charlotte Professor Nish Jamgotch. The interviewees are V.M. Berezhkov, Saul Mendlovitz, Igor Khripunov, and Dean Rusk. The interviews cover issues concerning United States foreign policy, especially U.S.-Soviet relations, and arms control.

A single black-and-white photograph of Jimmie Lewallen, with his stock car, ca. 1955.

Papers of an editor of The Charlotte News (1949-54) and The Charlotte Observer (1955-76). Consists primarily of material relating to his service as editor of The Observer and as president and project director for the American Society of Newspaper Editors. Also includes material about his association with the Southern Education Reporting Service, family correspondence, speeches, and photographs.

Collection contains the papers of Charles A. McLean, primarily during his work as an officer of the North Carolina NAACP. Other papers were produced as a result of his business activities or by his family.

This a small collection containing primarily correspondence from Clarence Marion Mills (C.M. Mills), in his role as an elder in the Primitive Baptist Church of Charlotte, NC. Other papers concern real estate transactions, Mills’ Auto Service, Inc., and printed matter concerning gas rationing during WWII.

Newspapers, magazines and other ephemera relating to presidents of the United States.

Papers of a Charlotte businessman, author, and Jewish community leader. Includes biographical material; typescript of his book, Our World to Come (1975).

This collection contains approximately 19,757 negatives taken by William Hoke Sumner Jr., a professional photographer who photographed news events, weddings, buildings, business meetings, sports events, store openings, ribbon cuttings, social gatherings, and numerous other activities.

Papers of a Charlotte city council member, including correspondence and reports. Also includes material relating to her service on the board of directors of the National League of Cities and as a member of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Committee of the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Materials pertaining to NASCAR, ca. 1970-2007.